Sean Caherty

Sean Caherty

Artist

at Mirabel Studios, M3 1PJ

Sean Caherty

I experiment with the physical and material constituents and constraints of paint media in all forms. I consider my studio to be a laboratory in which I play with substrates, siccatives, binders, extenders, pigments and dyes; extracted from commercial mass-produced paints. My research questions the impossibilities of contemporary technologies that supply and manufacture our material environment.

I do not draw or illustrate; I interrogate the materiality and phenomenology of paint in order to explore and exploit its potential as a sculptural and physical medium for wall based and three dimensional pieces which belong to a Fine Art tradition.

Specialties: By effectively challenging the traditions of painting and the condition of paint, I propose, design and manipulate strategic encounters between paint substances, found forms and elemental forces that will find expression in sculptural legacy; a happenchance method of creating artistic form from paint science.

http://www.mooch-art.co.uk/

 

About UK Arts Directory
UK Arts Directory Set up by Artists for Artists . . . Free and easy way to promote your skills, talents and business . . .

Leave a comment